Glumangate, Chesterfield, c 1904 - Rob Marriott


 Thanks to Rob Marriott

Glumangate corner of Saltergate in about 1920. - Alan Taylor

Glumangate corner of Saltergate in about 1920. Nothing to do with glue, this unique street name is now thought to do derived from ‘Glenmanestrete’, mentioned in 13th century papers and meaning ‘Street of the Minstrels’, although the reason is unclear. The ale-house on Saltergate selling Bass was the Miners Arms, previously know as the Fountain Inn.

Thanks to Alan Taylor

4-6 Glumangate, Chesterfield, c 1990 - Paul Greenroad

4-6 Glumangate -1990

Thanks to Paul Greenroad

38 Glumangate - 2006
1887, dated on stuccoed plaque under centre 1st floor window. Good symmetrical facade. Red brick with moulded dentil eaves cornice. Roof not visible. Stuccoed band at 1st floor sill height. 2 storeys. 5 windows the outer 2 paired on each floor, ground floor windows taller. Segmental brick arches to windows and door, keystone to door. 6 panelled double doors with plain fanlight above.

Thanks to Historic England